Recognising Athletes, Clubs and Organisations for LGBTQ Inclusion at the Annual Pride in Sport Awards

(2019 Australian Pride in Sport Award Recipients)

Hockey ACT, Hockey Victoria, Macquarie University Sport and UWA Sport are among other sporting organisations and individuals who have been named as Australia’s best for LGBTQ inclusion at the Australian Pride in Sport Awards held today at the Showtime Events Centre in Melbourne.

Launched in 2018, the Australian Pride in Sport Awards is the first celebration of its kind dedicated solely to recognising exceptional efforts in making sport more inclusive of LGBTQ people. It is produced by Pride in Sport, the national not-for-profit sporting inclusion program spearheaded by Australia’s largest LGBTQ health organisation, ACON.

Along with several sporting clubs and organisations, individuals across various sporting codes were awarded for their efforts in making their respective sports more inclusive of LGBTQ people on and off the field, with six community awards also being handed out.

The awards showcase the results of the Pride in Sport Index (PSI) – a national benchmarking instrument used to access LGBTQ inclusion within Australian sport.

Co-founder of the PSI, Andrew Purchas said: “The awards build on progress in achieving LGBTQ rights and ongoing work in making sporting arenas, pitches, and spectator stands more inclusive.

“The growing focus on LGBTQ inclusion, zero tolerance of homophobia, biphobia, and transphobia, not only within the corporate sector via their diversity and inclusion practices, but also within sport and society as a whole, is unprecedented.

“I congratulate all the award recipients and the many others working towards making sport in this country an inclusive place for everyone and I’m proud to celebrate those success stories at the Pride in Sport Awards today,” Mr Purchas said.

The awards, hosted by former Australian professional tennis player Casey Dellacqua, featured keynote speakers from experts within the industry, as well as the much-anticipated award ceremony.

Acting Pride In Sport National Program Manager Elaine Czulkowski added: “The Australian Pride in Sport Awards allows us to celebrate the outstanding achievements of clubs and individuals in improving and promoting LGBTQ inclusion within sport at all levels around the country.

“As Australian society becomes more inclusive, so too must sport. There is more to be done to ensure sport – whether on or off the field – is inclusive of everyone and that every person feels welcome as they are, in the sport they love to play. Everyone has fundamental right to participate in sport.

“Pride In Sport would like to congratulate all sporting codes, clubs, athletes, administrators, support staff and the many volunteers on the efforts they are making to ensure everyone is welcome and supported in sport.”




Media: David Alexander, ACON Media and Communications

E: [email protected]   T: (02) 9206 2044   M: 0428 477 042


2022 Pride in Sport Awards Recipients




Sporting Organisation of the Year

Macquarie University Sport 

Gold & Community Sporting Organisation of the Year


Achievement Award for Most Improved

UWA Sport

LGBTQ Ally Award

Cassie Lindsey, Geelong Cats

Executive Leader Award

Craig Tiley, Tennis Australia

LGBTQ Inclusive Coach Award

Sheena Atkin, Queer Sporting Alliance

LGBTQ Out Role Model Award

Dominic Clarke, Gymnastics NSW

LGBTQ Positive Media Award

Elliott, WIN News Tasmania

LGBTQ Inclusion Initiative Award

Champion Come Out & Play, Queer Sporting Alliance

Gold Sporting Organisations

·      Hockey ACT

·      Hockey Victoria

·      Macquarie University Sport

·      UWA Sport


Give Volunteer Spread the word

ACON Social Media Platforms