Finalists Announced For The 2022 Pride In Sport Awards

Finalists for the 2022 Pride in Sport Awards have been announced ahead of the fifth annual awards ceremony that will see sporting identities, clubs and codes across the country gather to celebrate LGBTQ inclusion in Australian sport on 27 April in Melbourne.

First held in 2018, the Australian Pride in Sport Awards is a national event dedicated solely to recognising exceptional efforts in making sport more inclusive of LGBTQ people. It is produced by Pride in Sport, the national not-for-profit sporting inclusion program spearheaded by Australia’s largest LGBTQ health organisation ACON.

Hosted by former Australian professional tennis player, Channel Nine commentator and Women and Girls Lead for Tennis NSW, Casey Dellacqua, the Awards will feature keynote speakers from experts within the industry, as well as the much-anticipated award ceremony.

One of the leading events on the LGBTQ sporting calendar, the Australian Pride in Sport Awards honours athletes, employees and organisations as it showcases the results of the Pride in Sport Index (PSI) – the national benchmarking instrument used to assess LGBTQ inclusion within Australian sport.

Co-Founder of the Pride in Sport Index Andrew Purchas said: “The Awards build on progress in achieving LGBTQ rights and ongoing work in making sporting arenas, fields, and spectator stands more inclusive.”

“The focus on LGBTQ inclusion, zero tolerance of homophobia, biphobia, and transphobia, not only within the corporate sector via their diversity and inclusion practices, but also within sport and society as a whole is unprecedented.

“Sport has the opportunity to ensure that this focus translates to meaningful societal change and is not just fad. Sport breaks down barriers. Sport aims to create a fair go for all.”

Acting Pride In Sport National Program Manager Elaine Czulkowski added: “Many of Australia’s sporting organisations, from national level to state and community clubs, are recognising that positive action needs to be taken to ensure sexuality or gender identity does not impact one’s ability to play, watch or be involved with sport at any level.”

“The Australian Pride in Sport Awards allows us to celebrate the outstanding achievements of clubs and individuals in improving and promoting LGBTQ inclusion within Australian sport.”


The 2022 Australian Pride in Sport Awards is on Tuesday 27 April 2022 6pm – 9pm at Showtime Events Centre, 61 S Wharf Promenade, Melbourne VIC.

For more information and to purchase tickets, click here.



avid Alexander, ACON Media and Communications

E: [email protected] T: (02) 9206 2044  M: 0428 477 042                                              


2022 Pride in Sport Awards Finalists




Community Sporting Organisation of the Year

- Bentstix Hockey Club

- Climbing QTs

- Kingston City Rollers

LGBTQ Ally Award

- Cassie Lindsey, Geelong Cats

- Ivan Power, Bronte Surf Life Saving Club

LGBTQ Out Role Model

- Hendry Lukman, Hobart Out Tennis

- Dominic Clarke, Gymnastics NSW

LGBTQ Inclusive Coach

- Matthew Helm, Diving Australia

- Sheena Atkin, Basketball, Queer Sporting Alliance

LGBTQ Positive Media Award

- Elliot, Win News Tasmania – Inclusive Sport State Rounds

- Mary Konstantopoulos; Holly’s Story – Coming Out

LGBTQ Inclusion Initiative Award

- Rolling Rainbow Sports Day – Wheelchair Sports

- Richmond Pride Ally Network

- Champion Come Out & Play, Queer Sporting Alliance

- South Melbourne District Football Club - Inaugural Pride Round

LGBTQ Executive Leader Award

- Michael Johnston, Chief Strategy Officer & General Counsel, Hockey Australia

- Craig Tiley, Chief Executive Officer, Tennis Australia

Give Volunteer Spread the word

ACON Social Media Platforms